About Us

The Health Services Association of NSW is a company limited by guarantee incorporated in NSW under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth).

The Association is governed by a Board of up to 14 directors, 13 nominated by its Health Service Members, and 1 each from its Associate Members.

The Board is elected annually at the company’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in November.

At the first meeting immediately following the AGM, the newly elected Board elects from among its directors, a President, Vice President, Treasurer and Executive Member.

The Board meets bi-monthly.

Elected Board for 2018-19

Grainne O’Loughlin, Karitane

Robert Mills, Tresillian

Ged Hyde, War Memorial Hospital

Drew Kear, Calvary Health Care Kogarah

Mark Jeffrey, Calvary Health Care, Kogarah

Alison Kent, Northcott

Eileen Hannagan, Chris O’Brien Lifehouse

Strephon Billinghurst, Hawkesbury

Christine Arnold, Mercy Health, Albury and Young

Steven Carr, St Vincent’sMatt Mackay, Royal Rehab


Grainne O’Loughlin, President

Robert Mills, Treasurer

Ged Hyde, Vice President

Matt Mackay, Executive Member

Non-Board Member

A/Prof Anthony Shembri, St Vincent’s Health Network

Jorge Aroche, STARTTS

Ron Thompson, HammondCare


The Association has a permanent Secretariat led by Mary Dowling, Executive Director. The Secretariat is located in Sydney.


Executive Committee

The President, Vice President, Treasurer, Executive Director, and up to one Board Member constitute the Association’s Executive Committee. The Executive Committee meets on the alternate months when the Board does not meet, and with the Executive Director is responsible for the overall management of the Association.

Specialist Groups

The Association has developed a number of specialist groups centred on particular health service clusters. These groups allow health service providers delivering particular types of services to meet and network with each other, and to come together as one voice for government on issues affecting these services.